Amazon Amazonas is one of the thirty-two departments that, together with Bogotá, Capital District, make up the Republic of Colombia. Its capital is Leticia. It is located in the extreme south of the country, largely south of the equator, in the Amazon region.

Area: 109,665 km²

Capital: Leticia 

Population: 76,589 (2018)

Coordinates: 1°30′S 71°30′W / -1.5, -71.5

Entity: Department of Colombia

Gentilicio: Amazonense

Explore the Department

Trip Ideas

Amazona’s map