Is one of the thirty-two departments that, together with Bogotá, Capital District, form the Republic of Colombia. Its capital is Santa Marta. It is located in the northeast of the country, in the Caribbean region.

Area: 23,188 km²

Capital: Santa Marta

Population: 1.342 million (2018)

University: University of Magdalena

Explore Magdalena

Trip Ideas

Magdalena’s map